top of page

Bookmarking and Tagging

My views on bookmarking and tagging run the gamut from frivolous to serious. From what I have gathered from my reading and observations, I think bookmarking and tagging are very vital in the organizational scheme of life.

I have several social media accounts such as Facebook, Twitter, and Pinterest. I did not realize at the time that the "pins" in Pinterest are in actuality "bookmarks". I dove into Pinterest with a passion and before long I had boards and many pins/bookmarks. For my personal use, I bookmark recipes, life hacks, and much more. The possibilities are limitless for what one can do with bookmarks for an orderly existence. Bookmarking organizes my world!!

I began bookmarking in earnest when I began graduate school. I found bookmarking to be such a wonderful tool. I bookmarked articles or much-used documents for later reading or consultation. Bookmarking has helped me tremendously in keeping all pertinent information in one place for quick reference

I use bookmarks in my career as well. These bookmarks have been on our office computers since the beginning of time. At any rate, most of them are quite handy for quick access.

Tagging is relatively new to me, but I understand the concept. What immediately comes to mind is indexing. The two seem to possess similarities when it comes to searching but that's where the similarities end. The indexer is a trained professional but the tagger is not.

In my academic libraries class, I created a libguide ( which I have linked to this blog) and added tags to it. The addition of the tags helped me to grasp the definition of tagging. The tags are keywords, phrases, or dates to name a few. They assist in finding similar items by grouping them together. I tend to shy away from things I don't understand which is why it has taken me so long to join the wonderful world of tagging.

bottom of page