top of page

Final Thoughts on Social Media

When I started this class, I wondered what more could I learn about social media and informatics. Well, for one thing I now know what informatics means. It's a good word for what does. It has to do with sharing, creating, storing, finding, and manipulating information. Through this class I have learned that there are so many social media sites. It would be almost impossible to manage all of this information without some type for formal cataloging system.

I have come to realize that social media is here to stay. It is the most advanced way of staying up-to-date with family and friends. It is a powerful business tool for building a business. I read an article recently called: Why Industry Leaders are Paying Attention to the Remix Culture (https://socialmediaweek.org/blog/2017/06/industry-leaders-paying-attention-remix-culture/). Wilson Kreiger, Chief Business Officer of PicArts states that the next big thing is Remixing. The remix culture is a global phenomenon. It is where creativity, collaboration and technology intersect. He also spoke about the usage of today's mobile users. Here are some statistics:

2.6T images were shared in 2016.

The average user checks their device 2.6K a year.

Users spend about 1.5 hours on social media daily.

By the way, Social Media Week is September 11-September

15, 2017. I didn't know there was such a week.

I have to say that I now have a new respect for social media and its awesomeness. I am not so afraid to join new sites. I will always make sure that my securities are in place on any site that I join, particularly Facebook. With my newfound knowledge of tagging and bookmarking, I will become much more organized. I will never be afraid of social media sites

again. Well, maybe Reddit because that is a scary

community!!

bottom of page