top of page

A Literary Prototype

This class seems to get more and more interesting. We have been assigned to design a working model or prototype of an information service using Web 2.0. I tossed around the idea of working alone but decided that isolation was not the way to go. I took my daughter's advice when she extolled the benefits of working with a group or partner. She was right. I worked with two amazing scholars ( Catherine and Ginny) who were witty, smart and just absolutely great to work with. We decided on Goodreads for our prototype. Goodreads is website that allows the user/reader to browse the shelves, create groups, make book suggestions, schedule an event, and have book discussions. The target audience is all bibliophiles young and old.

I would say that we all participated equally. Catherine wrote the proposal and we all proofread it. Once approved, we went to work. We created a virtual group called "Midtown Reads Banned Books". We met frequently and created a disclaimer (although someone joined our group) informing the public that our site was created in fulfillment of a class project. We set-up an event and a discussion. We all worked on the rules of engagement. We also created a reading challenge. So far the project has been an enjoyable experience. I personally learned at lot from these two scholars. I think selecting the books for the shelves was the most fun. I hope you will visit the site and perhaps discover a new author.

Note: I have provided a link to our virtual book group. The link can be found at the bottom or top of the page.

Here's a hint: The link is not twitter.

bottom of page